Home | New 7 Wonders | Roman Colosseum Chosen as One of the New Seven Wonders of the World | Flower of Life

Activate Flash plugin or Javascript and reload to view the New Seven Wonders Map.

Instruction: Hover over any red or blue icon to view detail. Click on any red or blue icon to "zoom in". Use the Zoom (+ and -) and the Arrow buttons to move around the map. You can also "zoom in" a region on the map by click and drag a box with your mouse.

The World has Voted for the New 7 Wonders !
Saturday, July 07, 2007. Source New7Wonders Foundation

See: The announcement

The pyramids of Giza, the only surviving structures from the original seven wonders of the ancient world, were assured of retaining their status.

A Peruvian in national costume held up Machu Picchu's award to the sky and bowed to the crowd with his hands clasped, eliciting one of the biggest cheers from the audience of 50,000 people at a soccer stadium in Portugal's capital, Lisbon.

Colosseum, Rome, Italy and the election of the New Seven Wonders of the World

Only one of the ancient wonders of the world still survives -- now history lovers are being invited to choose a new list of seven.

Among 20 locations short listed for the worldwide vote is the Colosseum, Rome, Italy. The ancient Colosseum in Rome was inaugurated in AD 80. Thousands of gladiators duelled to the death here, and Christians were fed to the lions. The arena has influenced the design of modern stadiums.

An original list of nearly 200 sites nominated by the public was narrowed to 20 by the organizers and experts, including the former director general of Unesco Professor Federico Mayor.

The vote is organized by a Swiss foundation called New7Wonders which specializes in the preservation, restoration and promotion of monuments, and the results will be announced on July 7, 2007 -  07.07.07, in Lisbon, Portugal, considered a neutral venue as the country has no contending landmark of its own.

More than 40 million votes have already been lodged, including many from India, for the Taj Mahal; China, for the Great Wall and from Peru for Machu Picchu, the fortress city of the Incas.

The original Seven Wonders of the ancient world were selected by Greek philosopher Philon of Byzantium more than 2,000 years ago. Only the Great Pyramid of Giza, which is is an Honorary New7Wonders Candidate, is still standing. The other original seven wonders of the ancient world were the Hanging Gardens of Babylon; the Statue of Zeus at Olympia; the Temple of Artemis at Ephesus; the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus; the Colossus of Rhodes and the Lighthouse of Alexandria.

Tia Viering, spokeswoman for New7Wonders, said: "Apart from the Pyramids, the seven ancient wonders of the world no longer exist."

The only criteria for the new list is that the landmarks were built or discovered before 2000.


The 20 finalists for the New Seven Wonders of the World, alphabetically:

  1. Acropolis, Athens, Greece

  2. Alhambra, Granada, Spain

  3. Angkor, Cambodia

  4. Chichen Itza, Yucatan, Mexico

  5. Christ Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

  6. Colosseum, Rome, Italy

  7. Easter Island Statues, Chile

  8. Eiffel Tower, Paris, France

  9. Great Wall, China

  10. Hagia Sophia, Istanbul, Turkey

  11. Kiyomizu Temple, Kyoto, Japan

  12. Kremlin/St.Basil's, Moscow, Russia

  13. Machu Picchu, Peru

  14. Neuschwanstein Castle, Fussen, Germany

  15. Petra, Jordan

  16. Statue of Liberty, New York, USA

  17. Stonehenge, Amesbury, United Kingdom

  18. Sydney Opera House, Australia

  19. Taj Mahal, Agra, India

  20. Timbuktu, Mali

Pyramids of Giza out of contest for New Wonders
Honorary New7Wonders Candidate
April 20, 2007. Source: New7Wonders Foundation

After careful consideration, the New7Wonders Foundation designates the Pyramids of Giza—the only remaining of the 7 Ancient Wonders of the World—as an Honorary New7Wonders Candidate.

The 7 New Wonders of the World will now be chosen by the people across the globe from the 20 active New7Wonders candidates.





Home | New 7 Wonders | Colosseum | Email

Last updated: November 23, 2007