Petra, Jordan, among the new 7 wonders. Activate Flash plugin or Javascript and reload to view the Petra, Jordan New Seven Wonders Map.

Instruction: Hover over any red or blue icon to view detail. Click on any red or blue icon to "zoom in". Use the Zoom (+ and -) and the Arrow buttons to move around the map. You can also "zoom in" a region on the map by click and drag a box with your mouse.

Golden Rectangles

New 7 Wonders

Machu Picchu and the Incas video

Taj Mahal video

Video: The announcement

Ranking as of June 7, 2007

Ranking as of May 7, 2007

America's Greatest Golf Courses



The World has Voted for the New 7 Wonders !
Saturday, July 07, 2007. Source New7Wonders Foundation

See: The announcement

The pyramids of Giza, the only surviving structures from the original seven wonders of the ancient world, were assured of retaining their status.

A Peruvian in national costume held up Machu Picchu's award to the sky and bowed to the crowd with his hands clasped, eliciting one of the biggest cheers from the audience of 50,000 people at a soccer stadium in Portugal's capital, Lisbon.

Petra is known for its dramatic tombs and temple facades, including one that served as a church during Byzantine times. The city’s inhabitants, Nabataean Arabs, carved structures into the soft sandstone more than two millennia ago.

The once bustling city was the capital of the Nabataean Arabs, who controlled the trading routes that passed through Petra to Gaza in the west, Basra and Damascus in the north, Aqaba in the south, and across the desert to the Arabian Gulf.


The 20 finalists for the New Seven Wonders of the World, alphabetically:

  1. Acropolis, Athens, Greece (450 - 330 B.C.) Civilization and Democracy

  2. Alhambra, Granada, Spain (12th century) Dignity and Dialog

  3. Angkor, Cambodia (12th century) Beauty and Sanctity

  4. Chichen Itza, Yucatan, Mexico (before 800 A.D.) Worship and Knowledge

  5. Christ Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (1931) Welcoming and Openness

  6. Colosseum, Rome, Italy (70 - 82 A.D.) Joy and Suffering

  7. Easter Island Statues, Chile (10th - 16th Century)  Mystery and Awe

  8. Eiffel Tower, Paris, France (1887 - 89) Challenge and Progress

  9. Great Wall, China (220 B.C and 1368-1644 A.D.) Perseverance and Persistence)

  10. Hagia Sophia, Istanbul, Turkey (532 - 537 A.D.) Faith and Respect

  11. Kiyomizu Temple, Kyoto, Japan (749 - 1855) Clarity and Serenity

  12. Kremlin/St.Basil's, Moscow, Russia (1156 - 1850) Fortitude and Symbolism

  13. Machu Picchu, Cuzco, Peru (1460-1470) Community and Dedication

  14. Neuschwanstein Castle, Fussen, Germany  (1869 -1884) Fantasy and Imagination

  15. Petra, Jordan (9 B.C. - 40 A.D.) Engineering and Protection

  16. Statue of Liberty, New York, USA (1886) Generosity and Hope

  17. Stonehenge, Amesbury, United Kingdom (3000 B.C. - 1600 B.C.) Intrigue and Endurance

  18. Sydney Opera House, Australia (1954 - 73) Abstraction and Creativity

  19. Taj Mahal, Agra, India (1630 A.D.) Love and Passion

  20. Timbuktu, Mali  (12th century) Intellect and Mysticism

The vote is organized by a non-profit Swiss foundation called New7Wonders which specializes in the preservation, restoration and promotion of monuments, and the results will be announced on July 7, 2007 -  07.07.07, in Lisbon, Portugal, considered a neutral venue as the country has no contending landmark of its own.




Home | New 7 Wonders |- Email

Last updated: November 27, 2007